STRAWBS - Settlement | Lp

  • 399 kr

included a signed postcard while stocks lasted. 180g

På lager
Artikkelnummer: 1765
Label -
Format  -Lp
Released -2021
Style -Rock, progg, pop
Country -Uk

Strawbs (or The Strawbs) are an English rock band founded in 1964, led by Dave Cousins. Although the band started out as a bluegrass group they eventually moved on to other styles such as folk, folk rock, (briefly) glam rock and progressive rock. Members included Sandy Denny (who later went on to join Fairport Convention), Rick Wakeman (who was discovered whilst in the Strawbs, joined Yes and has had a lengthy solo career), Richard Hudson and John Ford (who wrote "Part Of The Union" and then spun off as Hudson Ford).
They are best known for their hit, "Part Of The Union", which reached number two in the UK charts in February 1973, as well as for "Lay Down" a number 12 UK hit from the same LP. Their album Hero And Heroine (1974) was voted one of the Top 50 prog records of all time by Rolling Stone magazine

Esoteric Antenna is delighted to announce the release of the new studio album by the legendary band STRAWBS. Settlement is the latest album recorded by STRAWBS, more than 50 years on from the band’s first major label release. The album comes at a time of political and social upheaval, which the lyrics and melodies of the songs reflect. Undeterred by the fact that ‘business as usual’ was not possible because of the global COVID-19 pandemic - working remote from one another, from their own home studios - Settlement is a remarkable achievement.

David Cousins, leader of STRAWBS says: “Settlement is something extraordinary. I can’t think of another band who can go from metal grunge to the lilt of an Irish ghost story - or from a song in 6/8 time to singing in 4/4 over a 5/4 backbeat - in half an hour. The lyrics reflect the times we have been living through and I’m immensely proud of what we’ve achieved.”

Settlement is produced by Blue Weaver who played with Strawbs and Bee Gees in their 1970s heydays. The recording was coordinated from Blue’s studio in Germany, where he now lives. STRAWBS are David Cousins, Dave Lambert, Chas Cronk, Tony Fernandez and Dave Bainbridge. Special guests on the album are John Ford, another former member of Strawbs, who lives in New York, Cathryn Craig, with her lovely voice and unmistakable Southern lilt, who lives in Northern Ireland, and bass player Schalk Joubert, with whom David Cousins performed in South Africa at the beginning of the year. The album will be available both on CD and 180 gram vinyl formats.

There comes a time when every Settlement is due!

Settlement 4:57
Strange Times 4:29
Judgement Day 7:18
Each Manner Of Man 4:24
The Visit 4:40
Flying Free (Instrumental) 2:11
Quicksilver Days 2:26
We Are Everyone 4:57
Chorale (Instrumental) 3:13